Instagram

Instagram, an American photo and video sharing social networking service which is owned by Facebook is working on an update which let users memorialize an account of a person who has passed away. This new feature will add a ‘Remembering’ tag under a username of deceased person to signal that the person has died. After the completion of this update, the family members or relatives of respective account can ask Instagram to memorialize the account by filling a form. As Facebook has already provided an account memorialization feature, it is now working for Instagram too.

This new feature on Instagram was first noticed by Jane Manchun Wong, a Software Engineer and Blogger.

Instagram Comms on Twitter officially replied Jane Manchun Wong regarding this topic.

Instagram To Add 'Remembering' Tag on Memorialized Accounts

What happens when a deceased person’s Instagram is Memorialized?

Here are some of the key features of memorialized accounts:

  • Instagram doesn’t allow anyone to log into a memorialized account.
  • The profile of a memorialized account doesn’t appear differently from an account that hasn’t been memorialized.
  • Posts the deceased person shared, including photos and videos, stay on Instagram and are visible to the audience they were shared with.
  • Memorialized accounts don’t appear in public spaces, like people’s Explore Section.

Once memorialized, no one will be able to make changes to any of the account’s existing posts or info. This includes:

  • Photos or videos added by the person to their profile.
  • Comments on posts shared by the person to their profile.
  • Privacy settings of their profile.
  • The current profile photo, followers or people the person follows.